A Comprehensive Approach To Defending Drunk Driving Charges

Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs is one of the most common crimes in Colorado and across the U.S. Every day, thousands of people are pulled over, and in a matter of minutes, their lives change.

Colorado has two offenses you may be charged with. The first is driving while ability is impaired (DWAI) by alcohol or drugs. This charge is triggered by having blood alcohol content (BAC) above .05 percent but lower than .08 percent. It moves you eight points closer to license suspension, may cost you $100 to $500 and may result in six months of jail time.

The more serious DUI charge occurs when you have BAC above .08 percent. Even for a first offense, you face possible license suspension, a possible one-year jail sentence or even mandatory jail if you have an excessive BAC, up to $1,000 fine and mandatory probation with months of alcohol classes.

Colorado's Complex DUI Laws Require Experienced Legal Representation

If you are arrested for drunk driving, you need a good lawyer immediately to handle both the criminal component as well as the Division of Motor Vehicles consequences. Since the window of time for requesting a motor vehicle hearing is short, do not delay. Contact an experienced attorney right away.

At The Law Office of Care Enichen, LLC, in Boulder, attorney Care Enichen, a former district attorney, has presided over hundreds of DUI/DWI cases and prosecuted a number of them as well. We believe DUI defendants are people who have made a mistake in judgment, and it is our job to help them get past that mistake.

Thoroughly Knowledgeable About DUI Cases

It's important to understand that how DUI cases are prosecuted varies greatly from county to county. Some counties offer treatment options. Some are harsher. If you face a DUI charge along the Front Range, you need an attorney who knows the local landscape, who knows the sentencing options, who understands the science behind breath and blood alcohol testing, and who has worked on cases from every possible angle. Care Enichen has witnessed both the enforcement of drunk driving laws and the effect of sentencing on families.

We are ready to defend you against your drunk driving charge. Call 720-443-4166 or use our online contact form to schedule a meeting.