Drunk driving is a serious crime across the United States. However, each state has slightly different drunk driving laws. If you are being accused or convicted of drunk driving in the state of Colorado, it is important to understand how these laws apply to you. 
 
Colorado is one of many states that has an ignition interlock device requirement for drunk driving conviction. According to the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles, you may be eligible to receive your license back after a drunk driving conviction if you are part of the ignition interlock program. 
 
What is an ignition interlock device? 
 
An ignition interlock device is essentially a breathalyzer that a third party company installs in your car. When you start your car, you must to breathe into this device. Is there a device to text any alcohol on your breath, the car will not start.Ignition interlock devices also require you to breathe into them while you are operating the car, in order to prove that you have not consumed alcohol since you started the car. 
 
Who must have an ignition interlock device? 
 
In many cases, it is possible to get around an ignition interlock device requirement, but this will require waiting much longer for license reinstatement. If it is your first DUI conviction, after a single month of revocation you may be eligible to get your license back if you agree to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. If you had a BAC above .15, you will need the device for 2 years. If you had a low BAC, then the requirement is 8 months.