A trial attorney with overwhelming success in court.

A trial attorney with overwhelming success in court.

Brand

Call Now For Help
720-443-4166

THE EXPERIENCE YOU NEED

The Peace Of Mind You Deserve.

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Blog
  4.  » What are Colorado’s laws on controlled substances?

What are Colorado’s laws on controlled substances?

On Behalf of | Aug 5, 2022 | Blog, Drug Crimes |

Being arrested in Colorado for possession of controlled substances carries serious penalties if a conviction is obtained. In this situation, you need a solid defense in your case. It’s important to know the state’s laws and how you can face charges.

How are controlled substances classified in Colorado?

There are five schedules of controlled substances in Colorado. These drugs are divided by schedule depending on how addictive or dangerous they are considered. Schedule I drugs such as heroin and opiates are those that carry a higher risk of abuse.

Schedule II drugs include opium, methamphetamine and codeine. These are sometimes used medicinally but carry a high level of physical and psychological dependence.

Schedule III drugs include substances like anabolic steroids and hydrocodone. They carry a lesser potential for abuse, are accepted for medical use and have a lower to moderate risk of dependence.

Schedule IV drugs include anti-anxiety medications like lorazepam, making them common for medical use. They have a lower risk of dependence compared to the higher schedule categories of drugs.

Schedule V drugs are considered the least dangerous and least likely to be abused. They include medications that something includes small amounts of narcotics.

Drug paraphernalia is often placed in the same category as drugs. Depending on the specific item, a person can face drug possession charges if they are found to have them.

What are the charges for possession of controlled substances?

Depending on the specific substance and the amount of it, a person could be charged with a petty offense, misdemeanor or felony. Petty offenses are the least serious and often involve drug paraphernalia. A misdemeanor can result in anywhere from three to 18 months year in jail and fines ranging from $250 to $5,000 or both depending on the class for which the individual is charged. Meanwhile, a felony conviction can result in several years in prison and up to $500,000 in fines.

Drug charges are often life-changing and should be taken seriously. In addition to potential jail or prison time and hefty fines, they can adversely affect your everyday life.