Most Colorado residents won’t need to understand the heroin laws in their state. It’s a drug considered taboo by most of society and, outside of it being illegal, the average person wouldn’t know much about it. Still, there are serious consequences for those who use, possess, or sell it to others.
Colorado considers heroin to be a Schedule 1 controlled substance. Possession of any quantity of heroin is unlawful, as is using it within the state of Colorado. In addition, it’s extremely illegal to distribute, manufacture or dispense/sell heroin.
What are the penalties associated with heroin?
Penalties just for possession of heroin are considered a Level 4 Drug Felony. This means possessing heroin is punishable by 6 months to 1 year in prison.
In addition, anyone found to have heroin in their possessions will be fined between $1,000 and $500,000. The fines and punishment are dependent on the amount in your possession at the time of the arrest.
What are the penalties for use or sale?
The penalties for use or sale come in different levels: Level 1, Level 2, and Level 3. Level 3 is the least severe punishment and Level 1 is the most severe.
If you have distributed, manufactured, or sold heroin and are charged with a Level 3 felony, you may face up to 4 years in prison and a maximum of $500,000 in fines.
However, if you are charged with a Level 1 Drug Felony related to distribution or sale, you could face up to 32 years in prison and $1 million in fines. The level you’re charged with depends on the amount of heroin you’ve distributed.
What if I’m charged with a drug felony because of heroin?
Just using heroin is considered a level 2 drug misdemeanor and is punishable by a maximum of 1 year in prison and $1,000 in fines. There are defenses for drug possession and use in the state of Colorado, but they require a lot of research and familiarization with drug laws in Colorado.